St Kitts and Nevis: PM Drew paid a visit to The Office of the Integrity Commission

Published by
Jason Miller

Recently, Dr Terrence Drew, Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis visited the Office of the Integrity Commission at Liverpool Row, Basseterre, St Kitts, on Wednesday, October 5, 2022.

The office Chairperson, Retired High Court Judge, Her Ladyship Pearletta Lanns and other Integrity Commissioners gave the Prime Minister, Dr Terrence Drew, a brief tour of the office.

During the visit to the office, The Chairperson of the office introduced Prime Minister Dr Terrence Drew to the
St Kitts Integrity Commissioners.

The leaders had a brief discussion upon the ideas emerging from the speedy execution of the Government’s Anti-Corruption legislative agenda.

In addition, the government of St. Kitts and Nevis suggested an Anti-Corruption Act which anticipates the appointment of a Special Prosecutor to probe and prosecute criminal acts of corruption throughout the Civil Service, Statutory Boards and Government-Owned Companies, subject to the constitutional powers of the Director of Public Prosecution.

The St. Kitts Integrity Commission is an organization set up by the Integrity in Public Life Act. The organization includes a chairperson, who is obliged to be a retired Judge or an attorney-at-law of at least fifteen years; one should be appointed by the Governor-General acting in their deliberate judgment and two other persons appointed by the Governor-General after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.

The St. Kitts Integrity Commission will be serving for five years. The appointed person must be of high integrity, capable of exercising competence, diligence, sound judgment and impartiality in fulfilling their duties according to the provisions of the Act.

In one of the interviews, Prime Minister Dr Terrence Drew said, “once we start on the path of good governance, it will allow the country to unleash its full potential.”

In addition, the PM of St Kitts and Nevis said, “we want to create that new paradigm. It takes time, but we are working quickly to ensure we get it right.”

The appointed commissioners of The St. Kitts Integrity comprise Her Ladyship (Retired) Pearletta Lanns, Chairperson, Ms Carol Boddie and Mr Dennis “Freddie” Knight. The Nevis Integrity Commissioners are Mr Ricaldo Caines, Chairman of the Commission, Mr G. Sydney Newton, and Mr Alford Tyrell.

The Nevis Integrity Commissioners are appointed according to the Nevis Integrity in Public Life Ordinance.

While expressing their thoughts, Garth Wilkin added that “The Freedom of Information Act, passed in
2018, will finally be operationalized to allow access to the press and public to non-confidential Government information and to protect whistle-blowers.”

Jason Miller

Recent Posts

Daniel Amen: Lessons from 83,000 brain scans

Daniel Amen, a renowned psychiatrist and medical imaging expert, shared his remarkable journey and insights… Read More

5 hours ago

PM Drew to address monthly press conference with Federal Cabinet members

The Prime Minister of St Kitts & Nevis, Dr Terrance Drew, will address the press… Read More

14 hours ago

Pakistan Considers SCO Meeting Attendance in India Amidst Tensions

Pakistan is considering whether to attend the upcoming meetings of the defence and foreign ministers… Read More

1 day ago

Michael Martin leads CBI programme of St Kitts and Nevis to new heights

The head of the citizenship by investment unit of St Kitts and Nevis, Michael Martin,… Read More

1 day ago

UK: Andrew Osborne from Rutland completes solo across Atlantic Ocean, shares MP Alicia Kearns

United Kingdom: Alicia Kearns- Member of Parliament of the United Kingdom from the Conservative Party,… Read More

1 day ago

Safety & Security of St Kitts & Nevis is of paramount importance: Dr Terrance Drew

Prime Minister of the Federation of St Kitts and Nevis, Dr Terrance Drew, on Tuesday,… Read More

2 days ago