Cyprus excludes China, Hong Kong and Macau from green list countries


The Cypriot government has terminated China, Hong Kong and Macau from its green list and included them in the red category, as the covid surge in these countries and regions has gone astray in recent weeks.

According to a press release issued by the Cyprus Ministry of Health, arrivals unaffiliated from the red category have to undergo double testing to enter the country.


Moreover, travellers over the age of 12 arriving from the red list states must present the following documents:   

  • A PCR test performed 72 hours before arrival, or an antigen test took 24 hours of departure
  • A post-arrival PCR test has to be performed at Cypriot airports, and the passenger has to bear the expenses

The same rules apply to all unvaccinated arrivals from the following countries, which represent the red category of countries:

  • EU: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, and Finland
  • Small states: San Marino, Andorra, Monaco, and Vatican City
  • Schengen Area: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway
  • Third countries: Egypt, Argentina, Indonesia, Jordan, Israel, Canada, Armenia, Australia, Georgia, United States of America, United Kingdom, Japan, Colombia, Kuwait, Belarus, Lebanon, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Uruguay, Peru, Russia, Serbia, and Chile

Unlike red-class passengers, passengers from green countries will have to submit a pre-departure test, which can be a PCR or antigen test that is previously performed within a specified time frame. Low-risk countries represented in the Green category include the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Rwanda and Saudi Arabia.

More specifically, citizens, residents and family members of Cyprus are allowed entry into the Mediterranean country. Categories set by the Vienna Convention and EU citizens can also travel to Cyprus are exempt from additional requirements.


Share post:



More like this

Total Energies halted its investments in the Adani Group

Total Energies said it would no longer invest $4 billion with the Adani Group in a green hydrogen project.

Dominica: Parliament discusses the growth of the country’s people

The House of Assembly conducted the first meeting of the 11th Parliament's first session on February 7, 2023.

British Banks received billions to cover COVID loan loss

British banks have received more than £4.4 billion from taxpayer money to cover defaults on the £77 billion of state-guaranteed loans.

Pakistan: Crimes against Ahmadiyya Muslims are increasing

In Pakistan, crimes are often committed against the Ahmadiyya Muslim community by Muslim community members, gangs, and even the police.